Friday thoughts

Life lately hasn’t been all sunshine and smooth sailing. I’ve been faced with some harsh realities that I’m having a tough time navigating. I’m not sure what to do next. I don’t know who to talk to, how to progress, or what the next step should be. I’m paralyzed.

I know this is a common human feeling. We’ve all been there before and we’ve come out the other side. Usually along the way we’ve learned a valuable lesson, developed some extra tough skin, or maybe dramatically changed the course of one’s life.

I’m ready to be on the other side. But I know that there are several steps I have to take in order for that to happen. Why can’t I just see them? I want the plan to be laid out for me. I want God to show me what he wants me to do and I’ll do it. I’m ready.

But, I’ve realized that I need to take a step back. I’m giving myself a time-out on all the “future” talk. For awhile, at least. It’s been taking a toll on my relationship with Tom and it’s been taking a toll on me. I’m mentally and emotionally exhausted.

So for now, I want to focus on the last weeks of summer and the good parts about this season. Like walks around the pond while listening to a podcast.

Reading a book outside with a nice, warm breeze. Eating ice cream. Riding my bike. Paddle-boarding on the lake. Enjoying the sunset at the terrace. Walking around the farmer’s market on Saturday morning.


This weekend, all talks about the future are on hold. The decisions can be made another day. For now, I’m just going to enjoy.

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

